Almir Ribeiro Américo, Head of Moscow Representative Office of Apex-Brasil:

About Brazilian Football, Aircraft Engineering, The Olympics in Rio and Mutual Affection between Russia and Brazil

(on Portuguese, in Russian)
back

It started snowing in Moscow. We are walking carefully towards ‘Smolensky Passage’. The doors of the shopping mall are welcoming us with the glamour of its luxurious boutiques. Overcoming the temptation, we head further to the Business Centre. However, even the most sophisticated shopping can’t be compared to visiting Brazil. Mr. Almir Ribeiro Americo, the Head of Moscow Representative Office, kindly invited us to Apex-Brasil, the Brazilian Trade and Investment Promotion Agency.

Company employees are welcoming us with their smiles and taking care of our coats. Picturesque blue walls, bright sunny posters and green leather armchairs creatе an amazing feeling of being in a faraway exotic country. Add to this freshly roasted Brazilian coffee and you will get a special atmosphere for a friendly conversation.

A bit of Linguistics

Mr. Americo, our compliments to your Russian. Where did you study it?

Actually, I’m a physicist. After graduation I decided to continue my education in Moscow. I began to study Russian at the preparatory course before entering the postgraduate studies in The Moscow State University. It was a long time ago, back in the 90s... Unfortunately, I couldn't finish the postgraduate training programme. Having received an exciting proposal, I returned to Brazil. When trade between our countries started developing, I was invited to work for a Russian company that had suppliers in Brazil. Of course, being duty-bound, I travelled to Russia again. That was my second meeting with the country. Of course, that was not the same Russia which I had visited in the beginning of my career. The more I visited the country, the more I realized that it was changing for the better. Therefore, when Apex-Brasil decided to open its Representative Office in Moscow and invited me to work there, I couldn't miss this chance.

Perhaps Russian is not the only foreign language you speak?

I also speak Spanish quite well. It is very similar to my mother tongue, Portuguese, so Brazilian people find it easy to learn Spanish. I speak a bit of English, too... ("Not true, it is very good!" — emotionally exclaims Julia, Mr. Americo’s assistant.) Okay, okay! In fact, I'd be happy if we spoke Russian more in the office. However, my colleagues do not give me a chance to improve my Russian: their Portuguese is too good.

Is the knowledge of Portuguese obligatory in your international team?

I would say it is rather desirable. Apex-Brasil is proud of its strong external control. All correspondence is conducted in Portuguese. In the second half of the day (when the Brazilian office starts operating) we get in touch, discuss some issues and solve problems. The knowledge of Portuguese makes communication easier. I believe that the Russian Representative Office of Apex-Brasil is very lucky in this matter: it's amazing how many Russian professionals speak Portuguese perfectly! We work with Russian companies, for example, at the exhibitions and see that the professional level of the Russians is high. This applies to any field.

In your opinion, how does the Brazilian mentality differ from the Russian one? What are the cultural differences?

I first came to Russia in a very difficult period: tense economic and political situation, uncertainty, insecurity. Of course, all those things affected people. Previously, many thought that it had been better to live anywhere but not in Russia. Now things are different. Today people are more tolerant, open and friendly, they respect themselves and their country. This allows us to have an open, equal dialogue. I love it!

Well, about the mentality… (Thinking.) You know, I believe we have a lot in common. Despite lots of challenges, we always manage to stay strong and overcome all difficulties. I’m sure that Russians and Brazilians have common attitude towards life. Perhaps, there are no cultural barriers. Personally, I find it very easy and pleasant to live here. I'm sure that many Brazilians will agree with me.

Land of Aircraft Engineering and Light Industry

Could you tell us about Apex-Brasil? What is your business activity aimed at? How do you accomplish it?

Apex-Brasil was founded 13 years ago. Brazil is a country with a very strong and, unfortunately, quite closed economy. We must admit that Brazilian-made products rarely appear on the shelves of Russian shops. The share of export in the Brazilian economy is quite small. Apex-Brasil was formed in order to support the development of foreign trade of Brazil and the convergence of Brazilian business with the international one. Here in Russia (and the CIS) our main mission is to support exports, to create the conditions for the development of Brazilian businesses in Russia. This involves finding potential distributors, partners, investors including the development and maintenance of large-scale foreign economic and trade projects.

Your Representative Office generates investments in various economy sectors. Which are the most promising?

Brazil remains one of the major food producers in the world. Brazilian products will always be of interest to international trade. By the way, few people know that in addition to the traditional products — milk, meat and coffee - we also produce wine. Of course, we can't compete with Argentina or Chile — our climate is a little bit warmer than required for growing grapes. But still, there are several areas in the mountains, where this industry is developing.

Also, few people know that Brazil is an aircraft manufacturer. "Embraer" is the third company after "Boeing" and "Airbus" which has been producing aircrafts for about 50 years, including export. Of course, not in Russia — the competition is too strong, but in Europe and the United States people often fly on our aircrafts and do not even suspect that they are produced in Brazil.

Brazilian engineering is also well-developed. Of course, it is hard to compete with cheaper Asian goods - particularly Chinese ones - in the international market.

As for light industry, Brazil is famous for its high quality and beautiful shoes. By the way, 30% of "Econika" shoes are made in Brazil, as well as many products under the Calvin Klein brand.

Our task is to support collaboration of Russian and Brazilian businesses, invite Brazilians to visit Russia and Russians to Brazil, to meet and establish contacts.

Accounting Outsourcing

Accounting Outsourcing Accounting and taxation involve some intricacies for foreign companies, says Mr. Americo, to perform all tasks correctly, according to the Russian legislation. It is also important to bring our Russian reporting in line with our parent company.

We sincerely believe that we were lucky to find 1C-WiseAdvice. In fact, we have a lot of experience working in Russia and have something to compare with. When our Brazilian colleagues from other companies share their experiences, we see that the quality of the services provided to us is immeasurably higher. We admire not only the adaptability of the processes, but also simple human compassion, the willingness of your specialists to answer our most urgent and sometimes unusual requests in a timely, polite and professional manner.

What are the Apex-Brasil projects you are most proud of?

In fact, we study the market all the time. Every year we see interesting projects. For example, nowadays the food manufacturing industry is rapidly developing in Russia. New Russian brands have appeared in supermarkets. Russian food production is increasing and, therefore, it requires more ingredients. So, we invited Russian manufacturers to the Brazilian market. Russian businessmen have agreed with our suppliers and began to buy ingredients for their production. This is a very interesting project — it offers new opportunities for business between our countries. Brazilian companies supply Russian manufacturers with high-quality raw materials and those, in turn, produce good-quality products.

During your speech at Roundtable ‘Expected future development of relationship with Latin America' you told a joke that Russia and Brazil are in love with each other and 'wedding arrangements' shall soon begin, too. What did you mean by 'wedding'? Has it already happened in your opinion?

Well, I was referring to a phrase taken from an interview with a Russian diplomat, who said that our countries looked like happy lovers who didn't see the faults of each other.

And the wedding... I think it can happen (laughs). The relations between Brazil and Russia have always been good, even at the time of the military dictatorship. I think the reason why the wedding has not taken place yet is because Russia and Brazil are very self-sufficient countries and, in terms of economy, are still independent from each other. It is good to be a partner of Brazil, but we can live without it, too! As soon as our relationship reaches the level at which it will be difficult to do without each other, we will be able to move on from just “love” to a more serious relationship – we will run our activities together.

Sport is never too much

Unfortunately, the Olympics in Rio were held affecting the Russians poorly due to notorious reasons. As 'a jealous bride' we wanted to ask you how the Olympics influenced the investment climate of your country?

I think that had a positive effect. The whole world was watching Brazil. Unfortunately, the Olympics started at the time when we had a lot of internal political, social and economic issues. Thus, we couldn’t use all the benefits of that wonderful opportunity. However, thanks to the Olympics, Brazil has attracted considerable investments into its infrastructure. We did many interesting projects, invited a lot of interesting guests. Today Brazil is the 8th economy in the world. It was high time to organize such an event. We deserve it. I’m an optimist. I’m sure that Russia will host the World Football Cup. It will definitely be successful! No doubt! Russia and Brazil are powerful countries. From time to time we should have the right to conduct such large-scale sporting events.

Did you visit Brazil during the Olympics?

No, unfortunately. I worked here, but we all watched it on TV. I prefer to watch sport. But, of course, I sometimes run or ride a bike.

'If you can't play football, go to University!' is this Brazilian saying true?

Yes, probably... As I said, Brazil is a country of contrasts: there are a lot of rich and - at the same time - lots of poor people. Fortunately, the number of the poor in recent times has decreased, but there is still a large part of the population, who is difficult to climb the social ladder. Football can speed up the process. It serves as a social lift for young people. You know, there are many examples when children from very poor families became the stars of world football. But you still need to study, for sure, even if you have athletic talents.

Glimpse of the Future

What are your plans for the future? Could you tell us about your most interesting projects?

I've been living in Russia for 6 years. It's interesting for me to follow its events, take an active part in life of both countries as well as share my experience and knowledge.

BRICS offers lots of great activities. I must admit that back in 2015 when Russia was the Chairman of the Association, all events here were perfectly organized. It's a challenge for us. We will continue studying the market, prepare new target projects that will be mutually beneficial to both countries. However, this task isn't easy. Entrepreneurs in Brazil and Russia are still quite reluctant to work with external partners. We need to break the ice and prove that we need each other. We can contribute to our economics not only locally but also globally. Brazil and Russia have unlimited potential for development, which needs to be used effectively.

We don't want to leave, and the snow outside the window makes us think about Christmas holidays. Saying goodbye in the lobby, we ask one more question.

ApexBrasil

http://www.apexbrasil.com.br

Address: 121099, Moscow, 3rd Smolenskaya Square, office 9017

Phone: +7 (495) 967-7901

E-Mail: yulia.mikhaleva@apexbrasil.com.br

Logo Gruschwitz GmbH

Mr. Americo, how do you celebrate the New Year? Are there any traditions in Brazil?

Oh, yes! (Smiles.) Traditionally, we celebrate Christmas because Brazil is one of the biggest Catholic countries in the world. Christmas is a very quiet and cozy family holiday. And, on the contrary, Brazilian people prefer to spend the New Year in a cheerful noisy company of friends, launching fireworks somewhere in the center of Rio de Janeiro… or Moscow, why not?

false

Алмир Рибейро Америко, глава представительства компании Apex-Brasil:

О бразильском футболе, самолетостроении, олимпиаде в Рио и нежных чувствах между Россией и Бразилией

(in English, em Português)
Вернуться в Клуб клиентов

В Москве выпал первый снег. Осторожно скользим по тротуару в направлении «Смоленского пассажа». Магазин гостеприимно распахивает двери, соблазняя роскошью бутиков. Устояв перед искушением, проходим дальше — в бизнес-центр. Разве может даже самый изысканный шопинг сравниться с возможностью побывать в Бразилии? Хорошо, пусть не в самой Бразилии, а в офисе Агентства по продвижению экспорта и инвестиций Бразилии Apex-Brasil, куда нас пригласил глава представительства Алмир Рибейро Америко.

Сотрудники в полном составе приветливо встречают нас у входа, помогают отряхнуться от снега, снять верхнюю одежду. Колоритные небесно-синие стены, яркие солнечные постеры и зелёные кожаные кресла создают полную иллюзию нахождения в далёкой экзотической стране. Ароматный бразильский кофе дополняет атмосферу и настраивает на тёплый дружеский разговор.

Немного лингвистики

Господин Америко, Вы отлично говорите по-русски. Интересно, где и как выучили язык?

По образованию я физик. По окончании университета решил продолжить образование в Москве. Русский начал изучать на подготовительном курсе перед поступлением в аспирантуру МГУ. Это было давно, ещё в 90-х… К сожалению, закончить аспирантуру не удалось. Мне сделали интересное предложение, и я вернулся в Бразилию. Когда начала развиваться торговля между нашими странами, меня пригласили на работу в российскую компанию, которая имела поставщиков в Бразилии. Естественно, по долгу службы, я снова поехал в Россию. Так состоялась моя вторая встреча с вашей страной. Конечно, это была уже не та Россия, в которой я побывал на заре своей карьеры. С каждым новым приездом сюда я понимал, что страна меняется к лучшему. Поэтому, когда руководство Apex-Brasil решило открыть своё представительство в Москве и предложило мне в нем поработать, я с радостью согласился.

Наверное, русский – не единственный иностранный язык, который Вы знаете?

Помимо русского я хорошо говорю по-испански. Но испанский язык очень похож на родной португальский, поэтому нам, бразильцам, совсем несложно его выучить. Немножко говорю по-английски... («Ну уж, совсем не немножко, а очень даже хорошо!» — эмоционально вмешивается Юля, ассистент господина Америко.) Хорошо, хорошо! На самом деле, я был бы рад, если бы мы в офисе больше говорили по-русски. Но, к сожалению, мои коллеги не позволяют мне совершенствовать свой русский: все слишком хорошо говорят по-португальски.

Знание португальского языка является обязательным условием в Вашей интернациональной компании?

Это желательно. В Apex-Brasil очень силен внешний контроль. Вся переписка ведётся на португальском. Во второй половине дня (когда начинает работать бразильский офис) мы связываемся, обсуждаем вопросы и решаем проблемы. Знание португальского языка облегчает общение. Я считаю, что российскому представительству Apex-Brasil очень повезло: просто удивительно, сколько здесь, в России, профессионалов, превосходно владеющих португальским! Мы много работаем с русскими компаниями, например, на выставках и видим, что профессиональный уровень людей очень высок. Это касается любой сферы деятельности.

В чём, по Вашему мнению, заключается разница между российским и бразильским менталитетом? Каковы наши культурные различия?

Впервые я приехал в Россию в очень непростой для неё период: тяжёлая экономическая и политическая ситуация, неопределённость, неуверенность в завтрашнем дне. Всё это накладывало отпечаток на людей. Раньше многие думали, что лучше жить где угодно, только не в России. Сейчас всё иначе. Люди более терпимы, открыты и дружелюбны, уважают себя и свою страну. Это позволяет нам вести открытый равноправный диалог. И мне это очень нравится.

Ну а по поводу менталитета (Задумывается.) Вы знаете, я считаю, что у нас много общего. На нашу долю тоже выпало немало испытаний. И мы всегда находили силы справиться. Я думаю, что у наших народов общее отношение к жизни. Пожалуй, нет никаких культурных барьеров. Лично мне очень легко и приятно здесь жить. Я уверен, что это касается и других бразильцев.

Страна самолетостроения и легкой промышленности

Расскажите, пожалуйста, о том, чем занимается компания Apex-Brasil? В чём заключается цель деятельности вашего представительства, и как Вы её реализуете?

Apex-Brasil была создана 13 лет назад. Бразилия — это страна с очень сильной, но, к сожалению, довольно закрытой экономикой. Согласитесь, что мы ещё редко видим товары бразильского производства на полках российских магазинов. Доля экспорта в бразильской экономике пока достаточно мала. Для того, чтобы поддерживать развитие внешней торговли Бразилии, сближение бразильского бизнеса с международным, и была создана наша компания. Здесь, в России (и странах СНГ), нашей задачей является поддержка экспорта, создание условий для развития бразильского бизнеса в России. Это включает в себя поиск потенциальных дистрибьютеров, партнёров, инвесторов, разработку и ведение масштабных внешнеэкономических и торговых проектов.

Ваше представительство занимается привлечением инвестиций в разные сферы экономики. Какие отрасли Вы считаете наиболее перспективными?

Бразилия остаётся одним из основных производителей продуктов питания в мире. Бразильские продукты всегда будут представлять интерес для международной торговли. Кстати, мало кто знает, что помимо традиционных продуктов — молока, мяса, кофе — мы, например, производим вино. Конечно, в более скромных масштабах, чем Аргентина или Чили — наш климат чуть теплее, чем нужно для выращивания винограда (смеется). Но всё-таки есть несколько районов в Бразилии, в горах, где развивается и эта отрасль.

Также мало кто знает, что Бразилия производит самолёты. «Эмбраэр» — это третья после «Боинга» и «Аэробуса» компания, которая около 50 лет производит самолёты, в том числе и на экспорт. Конечно, не в Россию — слишком сильна конкуренция, но в Европе и США люди часто летают на наших самолётах и даже не подозревают, что они произведены в Бразилии.

У нас развито и машиностроение. Конечно, на международном рынке нам нелегко конкурировать с более дешевыми азиатскими товарами, в частности, с китайскими.

Что касается лёгкой промышленности, традиционно Бразилия славится своей качественной и красивой обувью. Между прочим, 30% обуви «Эконика» производится в Бразилии, да и многие товары под брендом Calvin Klein делаем мы.

Наша задача как раз и заключается в том, чтобы всячески поддерживать взаимоотношения российского и бразильского бизнеса, приглашать бразильцев в Россию и русских в Бразилию, знакомиться, налаживать контакты.

Бухгалтерия на аутсорсинге

Бухгалтерия на аутсорсинге

«Для иностранной компании довольно сложно разобраться в хитростях бухгалтерского и налогового учета, — говорит господин Америко, — сделать всё правильно, согласно российскому законодательству. Также важно нашу российскую отчетность привести в соответствие с отчётностью нашей головной компании.

Мы искренне считаем, что нам повезло в своё время найти компанию 1С-WiseAdvice. Поверьте, у нас за плечами большой опыт работы в России и есть с чем сравнивать. Когда наши бразильские коллеги из других компаний делятся своим опытом, мы видим, что качество оказываемых нам услуг неизмеримо выше. Нас восхищает не только технологичность ваших процессов, но и простое человеческое участие, готовность специалистов компании быстро, вежливо и профессионально отвечать на наши самые срочные, а иногда и нестандартные запросы.»

Каким из проектов Apex-Brasil Вы можете особенно гордиться?

На самом деле, мы постоянно изучаем рынок. Каждый год появляются интересные проекты. Сейчас, например, ситуация в России такова, что развивается производство продуктов питания. В супермаркетах появилось много новых российских брендов. Ваше производство увеличивается и, соответственно, требует больше новых ингредиентов. Так вот, мы пригласили российских производителей на бразильский рынок. Российские предприниматели договорились с нашими поставщиками и стали покупать у них ингредиенты для своего производства. Для нас это очень интересный проект — он открывает новые направления для бизнеса между нашими странами. Бразильские компании снабжают российских производителей качественным сырьём, а те, в свою очередь, производят хорошую продукцию.

В одном из выступлений на Круглом столе «Перспективы развития отношений со странами Латинской Америки», Вы пошутили, что Россия и Бразилия, конечно, влюблены друг в друга, но пора готовить и “свадьбу". Что Вы имели в виду под словом «свадьба», и состоялась ли она, по Вашему мнению?

Да, я имел в виду фразу из интервью одного российского дипломата, который сказал, что наши страны похожи на счастливых влюбленных, которые не видят недостатков друг друга.

А свадьба… Я думаю, это ещё впереди (смеется). Отношения между Бразилией и Россией всегда были хорошими, даже когда у нас была военная диктатура. Я думаю, свадьба пока не состоялась, потому что Россия и Бразилия — слишком самодостаточные страны и, с точки зрения экономики пока не испытывают зависимости друг от друга. Как говорится, с Бразилией хорошо, но и без Бразилии жить можно! Как только наши отношения выйдут на уровень, на котором нам будет трудно обходиться друг без друга, из состояния «влюблённости», мы сможем перейти к более серьёзным отношениям – вместе вести хозяйство.

Спорта много не бывает

К сожалению, в силу известных причин, Олимпиада в Рио-де-Жанейро прошла для россиян довольно болезненно. И всё же (на правах ревнивой «невесты») позвольте спросить: как Олимпиада повлияла на инвестиционный климат Вашей страны?

Я думаю, что позитивно повлияла. Бразилию увидел весь мир. К сожалению, Олимпиада совпала с моментом, когда у нас было много внутренних политических и социально-экономических проблем. Это не позволило нам в полной мере использовать предоставленный шанс. Тем не менее, благодаря Олимпийским Играм, в инфраструктуру Бразилии были привлечены немалые инвестиции. Мы сделали много интересных проектов, пригласили много интересных гостей. Бразилия на сегодняшний день является 8-ой экономикой мира. Давно пора было провести в стране подобное мероприятие. Мы это заслужили. Я оптимист. Уверен, что и у вас будет чемпионат мира по футболу. Он, несомненно, будет успешным! Я в этом не сомневаюсь. Россия и Бразилия — мощные страны. Время от времени мы должны иметь право на проведение таких масштабных спортивных мероприятий.

А Вы были в Бразилии во время Олимпиады?

К сожалению, нет. Я здесь работал, но мы всё смотрели по телевизору. Я, вообще, больше люблю смотреть спорт. Хотя, конечно, иногда бегаю, езжу на велосипеде.

Это правда, что в Бразилии говорят: «Не умеешь играть в футбол, иди учиться!»?

Да... наверное... Как я и говорил, Бразилия — страна контрастов: у нас много богатых и много бедных. К счастью, количество бедных в последнее время сократилось, но всё же есть ещё большая часть населения, которой сложно подниматься по социальной лестнице. Футбол может ускорить этот процесс. Он служит, если хотите, социальным лифтом для молодых людей. Вы знаете, есть много примеров, когда ребята из очень бедных семей становились звёздами мирового футбола. Но учиться нужно обязательно, даже если у вас есть спортивные таланты.

Заглядывая в будущее

Каковы Ваши планы на грядущий год? Расскажите, пожалуйста, об особенно интересных предстоящих проектах?

Я в России уже 6 лет. Мне очень интересно наблюдать за тем, что происходит и принимать в жизни двух наших стран активное участие, делиться своим опытом и знаниями.

В рамках БРИКС проводится много интересных мероприятий. Хочется отметить, что когда в 2015 году Россия была председателем объединения, все они были великолепно организованы здесь в России. Для нас это вызов. Мы будем продолжать изучать рынок, готовить новые целевые проекты, которые будут взаимовыгодны нашим странам. Это непростая задача. Предприниматели в Бразилии и России неохотно работают с внешними партнёрами. Мы должны «растопить» этот лёд, доказать обеим сторонам, что мы нужны друг другу. Мы можем принести пользу не только своим компаниям, но и нашим государствам в глобальном смысле. Бразилия и Россия имеют неограниченный потенциал развития, и надо его использовать.

Уходить не хочется, а снег за окном навевает мысли о новогодних праздниках.
Поэтому уже в холле, прощаясь, мы задаём ещё один вопрос.

ApexBrasil

http://www.apexbrasil.com.br

Адрес: 121099, Москва, Смоленская площадь, дом 3, офис 9017

Телефон: +7 (495) 967-7901

Эл. почта: yulia.mikhaleva@apexbrasil.com.br

Логотип компании ApexBrasil

Господин Америко, как Вы встречаете Новый год? Есть ли в Бразилии традиции, связанные с этим праздником?

О, да! (улыбается.) У нас традиционно отмечают Рождество, потому что Бразилия — это одна из самых больших католических стран в мире. Рождество — очень тихий, уютный, семейный праздник. А Новый год, наоборот, бразильцы предпочитают провести в весёлой шумной компании друзей или приятелей, запуская праздничные фейерверки где-нибудь на центральной площади Рио-де-Жанейро… или Москвы, почему бы и нет!

false